Maine President for KeyBank, N.A. Sterling Kozlowski Passes Away

KeyBank’s Maine President Sterling Koslowski passed away on Saturday, June 9. He was 59. Our thoughts go out to Sterling’s family as well as his co-workers at KeyBank. Sterling was KeyBank’s New England Regional Sales Executive and Maine Market President, a title he held for the past six years. He had served on the Maine Banker’s Executive Committee from 2012 through 2015 and had been on the MBA Board of Directors since he arrived in Maine in February 2010.

2017-2018 Appointed Committee Chairs Announced

On August 25, the new Committee Chairs for the 2017-2018 term, MBA Chair Andrew Silsby and MBA Vice Chair Pat Weigel assembled at the Haraseeket Inn in Freeport for the annual meeting of MBA’s Committee Leadership Council, discussing committee goals and plans for the coming year. The newly-appointed Committee Chairs are:

Bank Security Committee
David J. Ackley, Jr., Camden National Bank
Human Resources Committee
Marcia Benner, Damariscotta Bank & Trust Company
Collections Committee
William Kany, Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution
Legislative Committee
Susan A. Norton, First National Bank
Commercial Lending Committee
Gregory W. Dalton, Bar Harbor Bank & Trust
Marketing and Communications Committee
Mark Girr, Gorham Savings Bank
Compliance Committee
Aaron Kouhoupt, Bangor Savings Bank
Operations and Technology Committee
Tammy Plummer, First National Bank
Financial Management Committee
Rich St. Pierre, Skowhegan Savings Bank
Retail Lending Committee
Joe Ferris, Androscoggin Bank

Visit our Committees page for full committee rosters and information on the role MBA’s Appointed Committees play in supporting Maine banks.

Andrew Silsby to Chair Maine Bankers Association


At the 124th Annual Meeting of the Maine Bankers Association in Boothbay Harbor, the member banks elected Andrew E. Silsby, President & CEO of Kennebec Savings Bank, to head the Maine Bankers Association as Chair beginning July 1st.

Mr. Silsby was named President & CEO of Kennebec Savings Bank in 2014. He serves as a director on a number of local and regional boards, including the Travis Mills Foundation, the Kennebec Valley Chamber of Commerce, the Augusta Board of Trade and Augusta First. He is a past president of the Chamber, Lithgow Public Library and Kennebec Valley United Way boards.  Mr. Silsby also serves on the Board of Visitors of University of Maine at Augusta.

He received a B.S. in Business Administration from the University of Maine at Orono, and also attended the American Community Bankers National School of Banking.

Patricia Weigel, President & CEO of Norway Savings Bank, was elected Vice Chair of the Association.

Elected to the Executive Committee for three-year terms expiring in June, 2020 were: Lawrence L. Barker, President & CEO, Machias Savings Bank; Scott D. Conant, President & CEO, Damariscotta Bank & Trust Company; and Charles M. Petersen, President & CEO, Biddeford Savings Bank. Members who will continue to serve by their election in a previous year were: Robert C. Quentin, President and CEO, Saco & Biddeford Savings Institution (June 2018); Daniel Thornton, Maine Market President, People’s United Bank (June 2018); Tony McKim, President & CEO, First National Bank (June 2019); Robert Montgomery-Rice, President & CEO, Bangor Savings Bank (June 2019); Andrew C. Perry, President & CEO, First Federal Savings & Loan of Bath (June 2019) and Immediate Past Chair Jon J. Prescott, President & CEO, Katahdin Trust Company.

1 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 25